top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSuresh Rajan

My Country, My Pride?

Annabel Hennessy has a piece in today's West which was fascinating. I have reproduced the first couple of paragraphs below:


"For three decades between 1927 and 1954 it was illegal for Aboriginal people to enter the Perth CBD and other surrounding suburbs if they did not hold what was called a "Native Pass".

This racist law declared Perth a "Native Prohibited Area" and was introduced after a push by public servant A.O. Neville, the chief-protector of Aborigines", who had written "there is no reason why aboriginals (sic) or half-castes should wander about the city without any visible occupation."


Annabel goes on to say that she was not aware of this law. I was, because various Elders in the Community had told me about it. I remember Colleen Hayward telling me that her Uncle was allowed to come in to the CBD only because he played for West or East Perth in the Football tournament. But they had him in a separate carriage on his own. And he was required to leave the city area by 5.30 after the game.

This is part of the reason I am passionate about the status of Aboriginal people and issues. The White Man in Australia was quick to ban sporting contact with South Africa because of its "Apartheid" policies. And yet it did exactly the same thing to people who were the original inhabitants of this country.


This has to change and Aboriginal people accorded the rights they have as the First Nation's People here. I hope to be a part of a movement that will achieve some traction towards this outcome.




28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page